New List of 100 Books!

Courtesy of the Playwright, here is a list of the top 100 children’s books as listed by real readers polled by the School Library Journal. True confessions: I’ve read fewer than half of these, but many have been published since I was in the target age category. I was very pleased by the top five. I think that is a great top five. I really like the inclusion of From The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. I love that book, then and now. I found a used copy a couple of years ago and passed it on to a younger reader so that she wouldn’t miss it.
The poll conducted by the SLJ to compile this list asked people to list their top ten children’s chapter books. I am a bit removed in time from this kind of reading, though I do occasionally get some good tips on newer books in this category, so this list reflects some more recent reading as well as remembered favourites. Here are my top ten, though the order may shift from day to day.
1. The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis. For me this is all about finding family origins. It was also the first Narnia book I read, thus still a sentimental favourite.
2. From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. Mystery, an in-charge oldest sister and living in a museum. Totally awesome.
3. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. Read as an adult. The first time I read the book, a random young woman (10 or 11 years old) in a coffee shop informed me that it was a very good book. I agreed.
4. Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh. I started carrying a notebook and haven’t stopped.
5. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. Couldn’t bring myself to see the movie, I wanted to keep my own mental pictures.
6. Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder. This was my favourite of the Little House books. I re-read them all, but this one especially.
7. My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George. Found a paperback copy of this in adult life and think I still have it tucked away on my shelf. Survival and adventures in the woods.
8. The Island of Adventure by Enid Blyton. I don’t think there are any Blyton books on the list from SLJ but she was never widely available in North America. I think I liked the adventure series the best of hers. I used to read during school lessons, book hidden under my desk. This was one of the books I read in that furtive way. I did read it more than once, but once was in class. Can’t remember if I got caught with this one though. I had the thing down to an art, listening just enough to answer questions when asked. I think it annoyed my teachers…
9. The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander. A Fantasy series that showed me that there was more to the fantasy universe than Lewis and Tolkien. This whole series is good. I blazed through them in about a day, then re-read them.
10. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. I just read this in the last year, but it makes my top 10. Double-plus good as my friend The Constant Reader told me when she recommended it.
What are your top ten?

4 Comments

Filed under lists

4 responses to “New List of 100 Books!

  1. Sandi

    #6 Mine too. It’s the food Mrs Wilder makes.

  2. Lisa

    Our family just had a lot of fun compiling this list over lunch. Bit more than 10 though!
    The Gruffalo – Julia Donaldson
    Because of Winn Dixie – Kate Di Camillo
    Return to the Hundred Acre Wood – David Benedictus
    Tales of a fourth Grade nothing, Superfudge, Fudge – a – mania, Double Fudge – Judy Blume,
    The Cat who Wanted to go home – Jill Tomlinson
    A Bear Called Paddington – Michael Bond
    How to Train your Dragon – Cressida Cowell
    Tum Tum And Nutmeg a Christmas Adventure – Emily Bearn
    The Owl who was afraid of the Dark – Jill tomlinson
    Harry Potter (All of them) – JK Rowling
    Journey to the River Sea – Eva Ibbotson
    The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe – CS Lewis (Daisy’s fav Narnia)
    Prince Caspian CS Lewis (Izzy’s fav Narnia)
    The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane – Kate Di Camillo
    Pippi Longstocking – Astrid Lindgren
    Carice Bean spells trouble – Lauren Child
    Charlie and Lola Books – Lauren Child
    Malory Towers Series- Enid Blyton
    Ballet Shoes – Noel Streatfield
    Sapphire Battersea/Hetty Feather – Jacqueline Wilson

  3. I got 51 on this list, mostly thanks to all of the Roald Dahl, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and Beverly Cleary on the list.

    It’d be super hard to pick a favourite from this list — lots of them are amazing, and lots of them are very well -beloved books from my childhood. I’m very surprised at Hatchet making the list; we read it in grade eight and I have never hated a book so hard in my life.

Leave a Reply

