Planning to read

A couple of years ago I realized that I needed to build time to read theology into my schedule. Here is a blog post about that idea. Armstrong says some good things about planning. Let me add a few things after two years of planning to read.
1. Armstrong talks about time to read anything. I have set up a time to read theology. I read other things at other times during the day.
2. I have a preferred time to do this reading (an hour with coffee in the morning), but I have learned to be flexible. Right now, the Olympics are on. This means I am reading theology on the streetcar where I can’t stream live events. I have learned to bend with circumstances so that the reading gets done even when not at home, or when distractions arise.
3. I have found some books easy to read and others very difficult. So far I’ve just pushed through the hard books. I think I need to stop reading some books, not because they are difficult, but because they are not good enough to spend time and effort on. I haven’t figured this out completely yet. Any suggestions on criteria for quitting a book?
When do you read? What does your plan look like?

1 Comment

Filed under non-fiction

One response to “Planning to read

  1. Andrea

    I put a book down when I realize that any time spent reading it could be better spent doing anything else. Like reading any other book in the world. Or cleaning. That is the kiss of death.

Leave a Reply

