Mysterious Authors: UK vs USA

In the spot-the-trend category you may have noticed that all the mystery writers I’ve talked about in the last week and a half have been British. I don’t read mysteries from the UK exclusively, but I do tend to favour them over mysteries from the USA. I’m not sure why this is so. As I write this blog post, perhaps the half-formed (half-baked?) theory living in my head regarding this preference will become clearer.

The first possible contributing factor to my British preference is the fact that I lived and went to school in Greater London for almost a year when I was 7 (I turned 8 about a month before we came home to Canada). This was a formative year in my reading life, as it is for many children. I was just nicely into the read-anything-you-can-find stage, and what I found were mystery stories by Enid Blyton. It is possible that my current reading habits are influenced by nostalgia for the Famous Five, or the Secret Seven, or (best of all in my view) the Adventure series.

I do read some USAian mystery writers, but none of them so far have rated either collecting or re-reading. I usually take them out of the library, or borrow them from someone, or buy them second hand and dispose of them the same way. I’ve read Mary Higgins Clark, Patricia Cornwell,  Kathy Reichs, Linda Farstein, Sue Grafton & Jane Haddam to name a few. Most of these books were all right, but I didn’t exactly run out and get everything by the author. In a couple of cases I made a clear decision never to read anything by the author again. On a more positive note, I recently read through all the Judge Deborah Knott books by Margaret Maron; they were very enjoyable. Maron I might even collect if her books were readily available in Canada. Fortunately the library has them. I think one thing that Maron does (that the others listed do not do) is create and sustain an interesting character who changes and develops through the series. I like this in an author whether from the US or the UK

One other thing I’ve realized is that I quite like police procedurals as a sub-set of the mystery genre, but I haven’t encountered many USAian mysteries of this type. I am possibly not looking in the right places. UK mystery writers seem to crank out police procedurals with abandon, and I’ve had no trouble finding them at all. In fact one USAian writer, Elizabeth George, who DOES write a mean police procedural sets her stories in the UK! Does the US system of policing not lend itself to detective stories? There  seem to be a lot of TV police mystery series set in various US cities, why not books? Perhaps I’ve just not been looking in the right places or at the right authors.

Finally, I think there is a difference in tone between UK and US writers. The books have different accents. It is hard to describe the difference, but you can hear it. I like the sound of the (writing) accents that come from the UK.

Leave a comment

Filed under favourites, fiction

Leave a Reply

