Other Seasonal Things

I’ve been talking about Seasonal Books all week. There are other Seasonal Entertainments that I enjoy. Reading I do all year round, and I’ve often read the “seasonal books” mentioned this week in other seasons, even that far distant season, summer. (Except Winter Solstice. That is pretty much a Christmas read.) But it isn’t summer, it is Christmas. This evening 1Mom and I went to a performance of The Nutcracker put on by a local ballet school. It was a lot of fun. I’ve never seen The Nutcracker in a live performance ever — I’ve watched it on TV, but never live. When I was small, I used to love to watch The Nutcracker on TV, then danced around the house (badly) for days or even weeks afterward. AMom thought this was cute, but not an indicator that I should take ballet. She was probably wise.

Other Seasonal Favourites:

1. The Messiah. I often go to the sing-a-long version the Sunday before Christmas. I’m not going this year, but I’ve been loads of times, and it is a lot of fun. I’ve also got a great recording that I listen to all year round. It is the performances or sing-a-longs that are seasonal for me.

2. Carol sings. The past several years I’ve gone to a German-English carol sing on the first Sunday of Advent. This is very fun and includes singing Kling Glöckchen! I’ve also gone to other carol services or singing events in the past. In the dim and distant past we used to go carolling with people from church every year. We loaded up a bus and went to all the houses of the seniors from our church.

3. Christmas TV specials. I don’t watch TV any more, but if I did I’d watch the Grinch and Charlie Brown for sure. Those were my favourites. I’m not so big on Rudolf or any of the others, but definitely the Grinch and Charlie Brown.

4. Gingerbread. AMom makes awesome gingerbread. She used to make gingerbread houses — once there was a gingerbread castle, and another time a Victorian Gingerbread Mansion. These days it is just gingerbread cookies, but that is fine. The gingerbread houses we couldn’t touch until they were stale. Cookies are better because we can eat them right away.

Lots of people talk about favourite Christmas movies. I’ve never seen most of the movies they talk about. I think I’ve seen the Alastair Sim version of “A Christmas Carol” once. I don’t associate movies with Christmas. The only movie we’ve seen on a semi-regular basis as a family at Christmas is “The Sound of Music.” And that’s not really about Christmas.

What are your favourite seasonal things?

Leave a comment

Filed under lists, other Stuff

Leave a Reply

