Happy New Year or 7th Day of Christmas

In the church calendar this used to be known as the feast day of the Circumcision of Our Lord. Usually the circumcision bit now gets ignored (people are squeamish) and the day is celebrated as the Baptism of Our Lord. I still think it would be more accurate to think about Jesus’s circumcision than his baptism today. Ah well.

In other news, the Rose Bowl Parade and the football game, along with many other US College Bowl games will happen tomorrow, not today, in deference to people being at church on Sunday. True story. Happy parades and football day — tomorrow. It’ll be a nice brain-free way to wrap up the holidaze.

I’ve been promising an announcement of the Best Book I Read in 2011 category. Others have already published their picks. It is hard to pick just one books, so I won’t. I’m in good company as only a few of the people who published a pick chose only one book. I’ll be looking over my books read in 2011 list in the next few days as I update my database, a task that usually begins my year. As I go through the list I’ll mention other books of note. But for now (drumroll) my most memorable read of 2011 is Room by Emma Donoghue.

Why Room? A couple of reasons. First, 2011 will always be an important year for me personally as I met 1Mom at the beginning of the year. Room was the first book (of many) she passed on to me to read. Second, this is a really really really good book. How do I know? A. Donoghue took a major risk in making her point-of-view character a small child, but she fully pulls this off. B. There are few books that pull me in entirely so that I lose track of time anymore. This is sad, but the bright side to this fact is that there are some books that so have the loss-of-time effect. When it happens, I know I’m reading a great book. C. Though I don’t usually judge a book by how it does on the bestseller list, Room has done very well — it is on both the hardcover and paperback top-selling books of 2011 lists. D. At one point the author used a TV talking head to comment on the story she was telling. I found this quite brilliant.

Obviously there are loads of reasons Room was a memorable read for me. If I remember a book, if it sticks with me, then I think the book is a good one. Room is the book that stuck to me like glue for 2011. Check it out if you haven’t already. Let me know what you think.

2 Comments

Filed under favourites, fiction, other Stuff

2 responses to “Happy New Year or 7th Day of Christmas

  1. Ai-Leng

    One of my favourites of 2011, too! Great book, but it’s a sad story.

  2. Gillian

    I have also read Room and thoroughly enjoyed it. Trying now to get Kenneth to read it.

Leave a Reply

