Day 11: One day to Epiphany

Today’s 12 days song is all about Star Trek, all generations:

These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise…

In 2011 I read a surprising amount of Science Fiction. I say surprising because, although I read SciFi growing up, for several years I read very little. Then came 2011.

I’ll begin by mentioning the McCaffrey Pern books as they are set on a non-Earth planet and have to deal with the threat of space invaders (thread) with the dragons. They are a genre-bending set. I read three of those books in January. Then I read a lot of fantasy, mysteries, and Serious Novels or things trying to be serious for a few months, and came at last to The Warrior’s Apprentice in May. Oh. Wow. Lois McMaster Bujold can write. I knew this because a lot of the fantasy I’d been reading between January and May was her stuff. Her SciFi also awesome. This brought me to Implied Spaces by Walter Jon Williams, also a wow book. Really interesting ideas in there. I made the Constant Reader get a copy so we could talk about it.

By the end of June I started getting the Walter Jon Williams Dread Empire’s Fall series from the library. Praxis, The Sundering, and Conventions of War were finished by early August. In between the first two I started reading Orson Scott Card when the Playwright practically ordered me to read Treason. “It’s science fiction but I liked it!” she said. “I don’t like science fiction. You do. You should read it.”

In August I read To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis, which is clearly SciFi as it contains a time travel machine. It could also be SpecFic, but I think of time travel as SciFi for some reason. Maybe my definitions mean I need to reclassify. I’ll think on that. I also found Cordelia’s Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold in a second-hand bookshop (very exciting). This volume contains the prequels to The Warrior’s Apprentice and I quite enjoyed them. I then read Young Miles a combo book that contains The Warrior’s Apprentice plus a follow up novel and short stories.

I read mostly speculative fiction for a bit, then in November read Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, and revisited Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein, an old favourite I found at a garage sale. In Tampa. In December I continued with catching up on Orson Scott Card and read The Worthing Saga, which was very Mormon. Finally, I ended the year with a re-read of Anathem by Neal Stephenson. People have called Anathem SpecFic, but by my definition it is SciFi. It has spaceships and interplanetary stuff in it.

Let’s just count up then: 16 if you count the Pern books and TSNotD, and 12 if you don’t. I think that is 12 undisputedly SciFi books for 2011. Pretty good. I enjoyed all the SciFi listed above, and will look for more by the authors.

What SciFi have you read lately that you think is good enough to recommend?

1 Comment

Filed under fiction

One response to “Day 11: One day to Epiphany

  1. Alice

    We have all the Vorkosigan books, I believe, if you’re interested…

Leave a Reply

