Day 12: Epiphany

To celebrate the arrival of the Wise Guys and epiphanies everywhere, a final song for the 12th day:

And a Light Sabre from my Daddy.

If you didn’t guess, this version has a Star Wars theme. How does this fit with epiphanies you might ask. “Luke, I am your father.” I think that might count as an epiphany of sorts.

To celebrate Epiphany I’ll share my final thoughts on the best of my 2011 reading. First, the best of the science fiction. I mentioned that I read a lot of SciFi in 2011, but didn’t actually come out and choose the best of the lot. I have to go with Implied Spaces by Walter Jon Williams. I also must give a shout-out to Anathem by Neal Stephenson, which I re-read at the end of the year. It stands up to re-reading and the complexities remain. I think both of those books are worth seeking out.

Next, the best of the Fantasy, which includes all the Dragon books. I’m going to pick two non-Dragon books, both by Lois McMaster Bujold – Paladin of Souls and The Hallowed Hunt. Look for the resurrection in both of these. These are books set in a world introduced in The Curse of Chalion. You might want to start with TCoC to make better sense of Paladin of Souls. The Hallowed Hunt stands alone better than PoS. The whole series is about resurrection. Look for it.

Finally some historical fiction of note. I quite enjoyed The Mistress of Nothing by Kate Pullinger. It is set in the British ex-pat community in 19th-century Egypt, and is very interesting indeed. It was part of the pile RABro gave me last Christmas. I’m surprised I didn’t read more historical fiction this year, but I had all that catching up on SciFi to do. That must have been it. What historical fiction did I miss that I should catch up on this year?

Leave a comment

Filed under favourites, fiction

Leave a Reply

