Reading Goals for 2012

I don’t usually set specific books as part of my reading goals for a year — most of my goals have to do with numbers read and proportion non-fiction. With this in mind, here are the goals for the year:

1. Read at least 10 books/month on average (ie at least 120 books for the year).

2. Attempt to read 1/3 non-fiction.

3. Read some of the books on the True Confessions lists.

4. Read poetry more regularly.

I try to keep things general instead of specific, because I find that enjoyment of a book has a lot to do with timing. If I’m not in the right space for a particular book, if something doesn’t click, then I have to try again later. If I have an inflexible reading list, it tends to feel like school and I lose all desire to read books I acquired because they looked appealing to me. Once the Norwegian, the Playwright and I attempted a reading group. We had a terrible time because everyone reading the same book felt too restrictive. Finally we gave up on that and got together, drank tea, and talked about what we’d each been reading. That was much more fun.

What are your reading goals for 2012? Do you set any? Or do you just read as books come along?

2 Comments

Filed under other Stuff

2 responses to “Reading Goals for 2012

  1. Phebe

    I read as they come along. Yesterday, one of my kids set Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins on my chair and told me I should read it. Since it has come up several times recently among the teens that I see regularly in our homeschool group, I will probably go ahead and read it. It looks like it should be an interesting and not too lengthy read. I guess what goes around comes around. It used to be that I would choose books for my kids to read; now they choose for me.

  2. I think you’ll find that reading a lot of non-fiction is quite easy. I never read non-fiction until last year and once I discovered Jon Krakauer – I was off!

Leave a Reply

