Physics (not Psychics)

is for Physics, as in the branch of science. Physics is not the same word as Psychics, despite what my students said.

Remember, I’m an engineer, an aerospace engineer no less. I did a lot of physics back in my undergraduate degree. I taught a lot of physics in my days of high school teaching. I still like to revisit the physics now and again. It is also fun to mix physics with theology and shake a little and see what comes out. I know, I know. I’m a geek.

Alister McGrath is a mix-master of science and theology. He has a science doctorate (his research was in molecular biophysics) and a doctorate of divinity, both from Oxford University. He has written extensively on the interaction between science and theology and I find his stuff very interesting. He wrote a three-volume work called A Scientific Theology which I read with interest. It is full of really interesting science as well as interesting theology. I imagine that for theologians without some background in science or scientists without some background in theology the set might be (at times) unreadable. It is not easy reading even with background in both areas. McGrath also published a primer on his three volumes called The Science of God. That is a more accessible place to start than page 1, volume 1 of A Scientific Theology — in case you decide to check it out.

I also read straight physics from time to time because it is still interesting to me. I can’t keep up with really technical articles at this point, but like to read things like A Brief History of Time or other popular books. James Gleick’s Genius: the Life and Science of Richard Feynman on my shelf. I used to have Feynman’s memoirs as well, but have no idea what happened to my copies. They disappeared, along with the history of mathematics book I once had. I’ve also got old physics textbooks stored away in a box. I can’t quite get rid of the piece of my past. Fluid dynamics calls to me from time to time. Then I get bogged down in the calculus and go back to theology. My way of combining the two (as McGrath has done) has not yet become clear, but it will. Sometime. Surely.

Leave a comment

Filed under What to Read Next

Leave a Reply

