Here come the challenging letters…

is for Unread.

Oh c’mon, you might be saying. Unread? What you read next is an unread book? Isn’t that a little obvious? No, not really, not when you consider my habit of re-reading books. Re-reading is important, so it is not always obvious that the next book I read will be an unread book from my (growing, teetering) to-be-read pile. But I do like to read and experience new books as well as old friends. U is for Unread.

A quick look back at my 2012 list of books read so far (14 to this point, almost done #15) reminds me that I’ve only read new-to-me books since Jan 1. The final three books I read in 2011 were re-reads.

Unread books are full of potential – potential for greatness and also potential for disaster. Let me peek at a couple of my TBR piles and tell you what potential delights await, then you can tell me where I should go next. I’m presently reading Neverwhere due to the insistent prodding of my friend Whosit, who blogs as The Mrs (see blog links on the right). (FYI, she calls me Whatsit back. We are not always consistent in which of us is Who and which is What. I don’t think we got these names from A Wrinkle in Time as I first read the book long after this tradition started. I’ve known Whosit since she was born, so the tradition is one of long standing.) ANYWAY, I’m probably going to finish Neverwhere tonight and then turn to Started Early, Took My Dog which the Restless Teacher lent me. After that, anything from my piles is possible. Here is a list of possibilities in no particular order:

World of Wonders by Robertson Davies (3rd of Deptford Trilogy)

N-Space by Larry Niven (short stories)

a complicated kindness by Miriam Toews (I hear some of you screaming WHAT?!?! You haven’t read that yet??????)

Gai-Jin by James Clavell (very thick)

Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card

Perdido Street Station by China Miéville (no, I haven’t read it yet, though the Vicar’s Wife told me I should in December)

Sovereign by C.J. Sansom

Discipleship of the Mind by James W. Sire (non fiction)

Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith Anne LaMott (a memoir)

Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt

The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis (a request from the Apprentice Actor)

and The Gospel and the Mind by Bradley G. Green (non fiction again).

Thoughts? Feelings? Suggestions?

In a slightly different vein, I’m open to suggestions for words that I could (reasonably & topically) blog about that begin with V, X, Y, or Z. I think I know what I’ll do with W. Suggest away. Please note that I will reject any suggestion that I blog on a word beginning with V that may occur to some people because of a certain day this week.

9 Comments

Filed under What to Read Next

9 responses to “Here come the challenging letters…

  1. You already know what I’m going to say: Ender’s Game. Get on it. I won’t capsyell at you for not reading A Complicated Kindness…yet. But now that I know you have it on your TBR list…I’ll be watching you…

  2. The Constant Reader

    You haven’t read A Great Divorce?????!?!?!!?!?!! Gah, Heather, I’d probably put it in Lewis’s top three. Read that.

    ..

    V is for Vanity Press! V is for Vampires! (actually, I hope you don’t read vampire books.) V is for Vainglorious Memoirs!

    • The Constant Reader

      I mean “The” great divorce… Just because it’s my favourite doesn’t mean I have to know what it’s called, right?

  3. Mary Kingsbury

    I
    I didn’t care for a complicated kindness. Same with House of Sand and Fog. Lots of hype about nothing.

  4. Mary Kingsbury

    “A Complicated Kindness” Caps disappeared

  5. I think you will like a complicated kindness. I hated it at first, but it grew on me. How about John Steinbeck’s Cannery Row? It is a favourite of mine.

  6. Christine Curley

    I agree, move The Great Divorce up about ten notches. It is a quick read. Hmm, w, who done it?? Wanderings? youth for y, zebras for z, sorry, I got nothing for that 🙂

  7. Alice

    The Great Divorce!!!
    V for victory — as in, getting through a book that was a difficult slog
    X for xenophile — books by foreigners/in translation
    Y for yummy — books that are “tasty”, however you interpret that
    Z for zany

  8. The Constant Reader

    Oh, of course, Y is for Young Adult Fiction.

Leave a Reply

