Zed

is the very last letter of the English Alphabet. As related to books I read, or how I choose books, Z (pronounced “Zed”) is for Zany

Zany. Crazy. Funny. Edgy. I like all these things in books. I tend to like the quieter sort of Zaniness, the kind that comes out in edgy wit or in crazy stunts that take brains to plan and pull off, not the kind that runs around screaming mindlessly just to appear fun and crazy. I like the Starbuck sort of character (Battlestar Galactica people, get on board). That’s my idea of a good zany character. Gaius Baltar (still BSG), he’s just weird. He’s not even a good geek. Ick. But I’m supposed to talk about reading here, not (excellent) TV shows. Zany means Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It means books by Adrian Plass. It means the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde. What? You’ve not heard of Thursday Next? Go now to the library, do not pass Go, collect The Eyre Affair, and meet Thursday Next. You’ll be pleased to know that the series gets better and better as it goes along. I think I liked First Among Sequels the best. I’d have to revisit them to make sure though.

On a completely different note, Lent starts today. I hope you had all your pancakes and goodies last night, because Lent is a fasting and penitential season. Some of you may be wearing ashes as you read. I’m not giving up blogging for Lent, but I’m going to blog about Lent and my understanding of the 40 days before Easter. I learn about Lent mostly from reading theology and the Bible, so books will still be included. Hopefully I’ll learn more about Lent and the spiritual disciplines in the next 40 days. Sundays are non-fast days during Lent. If I’ve got something to say about current reading or something pops up that needs an update, I’ll post non-Lent things on the occasional Sunday.

For now, from the Canadian Book of Common Prayer, a prayer from the penitential service on Ash Wednesday:

Almighty and everlasting God, who forgavest the people of Nineveh when they repented in sackcloth and ashes: Mercifully grant that we, truly repenting of our sins, may obtain of thee perfect pardon and release; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

2 Comments

Filed under What to Read Next

2 responses to “Zed

  1. THE EYRE AFFAIR! Sorry, I couldn’t help shouting.

    What I meant to say was “I heartily concur”.

  2. I can’t wait for your blogs during the 40 days of Lent and your own observance. I’ve been thinking about it all day since getting ashes this morning and I love hearing other people’s thoughts or small moments during the 40 days.

    My priest said this morning “Prayer is not a time to talk to God, but a time to create space so that God can talk to you.” I think that’s my biggest hope during Lent. I’m glad to see other book lovers are writing about their own experiences in religion.

    And of course, I’m not giving up blogging either. : )

Leave a Reply

