Bibliographies/Reading Lists

When doing research do you just read randomly? Or do you make a plan?

I ask because I was teaching graduate students about making a plan for research today. They got a situation, had to list some issues arising from the situation, then had to go and find potential resources and list them. This got me thinking. I do make potential reading lists for research, but I don’t always follow the plan. I start to follow the plan, then I read a book and the plan gets modified, then re-modified, then sometimes pitched away completely. I think this is a natural part of the process, but realize it could just be me getting bored or resisting plans. That is the reason I’m asking, do any of you make a reading plan and follow it through without modification? Just curious.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under lists

Leave a Reply

