YA fiction: voting results

Last week I linked to the NPR poll on favoured YA fiction. The results are in. Is anyone surprised that #1 is Harry Potter? No, neither am I. And I’m not really surprised by #2 either, given the timing of the survey. Would the Hunger Games trilogy score so high a year from now? That is an interesting question that cannot be answered right now. I note that Harry Potter tops the list 5 years after the last book in the series was published and a year after the last movie.

Other random comments: I am relieved to see that the Twilight series only made #27, and that The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time ranks before the Twilight books at #25. I’m sad that the Bartimaeus books only made #65, but maybe they are too intelligent? There are a lot of books on this list I haven’t read, so I’ll have to check some out. Any personal recommendations? I’m not going to read Twilight, so don’t recommend that.

3 Comments

Filed under lists

3 responses to “YA fiction: voting results

  1. Christine

    I was a bit surprised at some of the top 100 too. I was sad that the Queen’s Thief series didn’t make it. It is so well written and engaging. The only suggestions I have that are on the top 100 are the Markus Zusak books. Both are excellent.

  2. I always thought I was the only person who knew about how great “The Hero and The Crown” is. “A Ring of Endless Light” made it and “A Wrinkle In Time” didn’t? But I guess we’re competing with “Twifright”… so.

  3. Howl’s Moving Castle is a fun, light read … though I have to admit I enjoyed the animated movie a bit more than the book. Both are great in their oddity. I spent a lot of my teenage-hood reading Tamora Pierce. I think she’s worth the read. It’s Kind of a Funny Story had some parts I didn’t enjoy, but I liked the author’s honesty and the main character was easy the empathize with. I Capture the Castle … I just love it. I’ve reread it quite a few times. Katie recommended The Goose Girl to me and we both really liked it. It’s disappointing how much this list is reflective of current trends instead of the tried and true (although there are some of those on the list). What you said about Hunger Games I feel is true about a lot of other books on this list. I wonder how you could avoid that though?

Leave a Reply

