Outlandish, Thursday Next, and Garage Sale Sales

I finished Outlander and can only recommend that you run away if you ever see the book anywhere around you. Waste. Of. Time. I got to the end, threw the book down and (mentally) yelled YOU MUST BE JOKING! No plot, no character development, little discussion or thought on the issues of time travel, little thought at all, and some superficial theology pitched in at the end. Blech. Must find something to read to take the taste out of my brain. Go see the reviews on goodreads for more, I can’t really add to the 1/2-star reviews there. They say it all, and I don’t want to think about it any more. Take all the gushing 5-star reviews with a large handful of salt.

In happier news, I’ve got a Thursday Next book on my iPad from the library, One of Our Thursdays is Missing. Yay for Jasper Fforde and Thursday Next! (What!?!?! You’ve never heard of Jasper Fforde and Thursday Next?? Get to the library now.) I’m irritated by the fact that the EPUB copy of OOOTIM has the map of Fiction Island sideways, then when you turn the iPad to see the map not sideways, the image rotates. Another eBook irritant. Fortunately the fantastic Mr. Fforde has the map on his website. I like maps in books a lot. I’ve talked about that before around here.

I’m still thinking about the lack of book sales at the garage sale on Saturday. Some of the non-fiction went quite quickly, including a book about how everything works. The mother of a small boy picked that up, along with a baseball glove for said small boy. Some of the mysteries went, but they didn’t go as quickly as I’d hoped. Everyone commented on the number of Ian Rankin books, but there were just as many of other authors. The sale I enjoyed making the most was to a 30ish guy who bought my 2 Gordon Korman books because he read them when he was younger. It was totally a nostalgia buy, and something I wasn’t really expecting. I did see other people pick up books, then put them down as though they shouldn’t buy books though they wanted to. Why not? What’s wrong with buying books, especially when they are $1.00 or less? Oh well, some books found new homes.

1 Comment

Filed under fiction

One response to “Outlandish, Thursday Next, and Garage Sale Sales

  1. Anna

    I was just about to email you today about Outlander! I have been pushing through… I am not getting very far. I have to say that there is a gene of a story there, but it is so weighed down. I will keep reading it and let you know what I think. But I have a feeling that since it is the lightest thing on my plate right now, that the escapism will be welcomed.

Leave a Reply

