Movies before Books?

Sometimes a movie points me to a book. On the weekend I watched “The Hours” which I quite enjoyed. I know the movie is based on a book (The Hours by Michael Cunningham) which is based on a book (Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf). So many layers. Anyhow, I’ve read neither The Hours, nor Mrs. Dallowaybut now I’m much more likely to read both. I watched “Possession” before even realizing there was a book called Possession by A.S. Byatt, and now I think that is the Best Book Ever. The BBC serial adaptation of Pride and Prejudice helped me re-read the book by Jane Austen which I’d initially thought tedious. That book gets better every time I read it.

Which movies enhance your enjoyment of books or introduced you to books?

3 Comments

Filed under fiction

3 responses to “Movies before Books?

  1. I had the same experience, I saw this movie trailer of ‘Cloud Atlas’ and I couldn’t resist not buying the book its based on.
    I always say books are better because we are the directors, and there’s nothing better than our own imagination.

  2. Sam

    BBC!?! Come on Heather, the movie version is much better. I argue with Nance about this all the time.

Leave a Reply

