Turning the Editor Off

I am on day two of NaNoWriMo. (By the way, if you haven’t already watched the NaNoMusical, you should. It rocks and I know Luke (who plays Dale) and some of those odd extra-y people. And I’ve met Manda at a few social events, and am generally a fan of her acting, particularly when she does light-sabre noises.) I’ve written 3524 words (as counted by my word processing program) which means I’m near the top of page 11 of typing.

How is it going? I’m not satisfied with a decision I made about how to frame the story, and am having to resist the urge to go back and seriously edit. This is supposed to be a first draft, and editing is for later. I do go back and make minor revisions to sentences as I type, adding a phrase here, changing a word there. I repeat myself a lot, not using identical words, but writing sentences that say essentially the same thing. The hard-core editor in me wants to go back and make the whole thing much more streamlined. I am resisting this urge. It is difficult.

What am I writing about? I’d rather not say right now. I have a title and a general direction, but I’m not sure how this is going to come out. The characters and some aspects of the story have been lurking in my head for many moons now, and this month is a chance to let them come out and dance on the page. We’ll see what happens.

How is your writing going?

3 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo

3 responses to “Turning the Editor Off

  1. “The hard-core editor in me wants to go back and make the whole thing much more streamlined. I am resisting this urge. It is difficult.”

    Same here. I do kind of wonder about the pros and cons of each approach. (obviously one is better for nano) I’m worried that if I go back and edit, I could make a drastic change. But maybe that would be a change for the better that can lead me off to new places.

  2. Cheryl Nigh

    Heather, is this something I should have my super oober keen students working on???

Leave a Reply

