Coraline

I’ve been looking at that GeekDad list of books to read aloud to your children before age 10. I hadn’t read some of the books, mostly because I have no children, and because some of them were not yet published when I was growing up. I went online and found an e-library copy of Coraline by Neil Gaiman. The more I read Mr. Gaiman, the more I like his stuff. Of course this book wasn’t published when I was small, but I quite like it. It makes me reconsider what has actually come out of my mad typing this month for NaNoWriMo. I think I should have attempted something on the scale of Coraline with the basic idea I started with. Instead I’ve been bouncing around not quite sure if I’m writing a failed fantasy novel, or some magical realism where the magic hasn’t quite started, or a family epic. I think reading Coraline aloud to a child between 8 and 11 would be a great experience for both the child and adult involved. It has suspense, adventure, and a puzzle to figure out. It also makes me want to read more Gaiman.

Leave a comment

Filed under lists, NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

