Authors I’ve discovered This Year

Sometimes I discover an author, then proceed to read the author’s entire backlist. This year, there are a few authors I’ve discovered. I’ll talk about three today.

1. Haruki Murakami. I heard 1Q84 was really good, so I made a note to read it. Before I read 1Q84, though, I read Sputnik Sweetheart, mostly because of the title. Sputnik. I’m an aerospace engineer, what can I say? Anyhow, I quite enjoyed SS, so kept looking for 1Q84, and finally decided to borrow it from the library on ebook. This worked well. I was only on the waiting list for a couple of days. I really enjoyed 1Q84. Now I’m on the look-out for Murakami whenever I go to used bookstores.

2. Julia Spencer-Fleming. This is a pretty recent discovery. I’d heard of Spencer-Fleming before in lists of clergy mysteries, that is mystery series that have a clergy person as a main character. When I was moving, I decided to get a couple of audio books from the library so that I had some listening material while I packed and unpacked and organized. Spencer-Fleming’s first book In the Bleak Mid-Winter was available as an audio book. I picked it up as I’d heard of the author, plus, as a bonus, it was the first book in the series. I like starting things at the beginning. I quite enjoyed listening do In the Bleak Mid-Winter, told the manager at the bookshop where I work about the series, and now we stock them! And I read book two! And I’m going to read more!!

3. Robertson Davies. Some of you may think that as a Canadian who reads voraciously I should have discovered Robertson Davies long ago. I think it was the beard that put me off. Anyhow, I got over that. I wrote about my discovery of Davies in this a blog post earlier this year. I’ve now read two sets of three books by Davies, the Deptford trilogy and the Salterton trilogy. Coming up: the Cornish trilogy.

What about you? What authors have you discovered this year?

5 Comments

Filed under lists

5 responses to “Authors I’ve discovered This Year

  1. I discovered Murakami this year too, though unlike you, the book I picked out didn’t make me look for any others. I also discovered Jasper Fforde, David Levithan, John Green and Matthew Green, and I will definitely be looking out for more books by them. 🙂

  2. Andrea

    I discovered Elizabeth Weins (wrote Code Name Verity.) GO READ IT AHHH SOOOO GOOD!

    And… umm.. more. I’ll have to go look at my goodreads. Thank heavens for online book-thingies. Otherwise I’d never remember half my books. Besides, oh that one, with that cover. It was about that stuff. With the thing. That I remember I’d already read half way through reading it.

  3. Andrea

    Oh, and Michelle West. I’d read her before as Michelle Sagara West, but her books as Michelle West are so much more enjoyable. Her grammar is delightful.

  4. Evelyn Waugh was a pretty big discovery for me. I read A Handful of Dust and inherited about 7 or 8 of his other books. I suspect I may read a lot of his books in 2013).

    I started a lot of new-to-me poets this year: W.B. Yeats, William Blake, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Thomas Hood, Samuel Coleridge, Ted Kooser, W.H. Auden, Edward Lear, Stephen Crane, and Maya Angelou.

    Also possibly worth mentioning are never before read authors such as Eugene McNamara, Dorothy Sayers, and Patrick O’Brian.

  5. When I lived in London, a friend stongly urged me to read Davies. “Which trilogy? Cornish or Deptford?” I had heard those were his best novels. “Cornish” she replied.

Leave a Reply

