Hurray for Used Bookstores!

Today I found that a used bookshop that I had not visited in some time was still open. This was good news as another on the same stretch of road had closed. I happily went into the still open shop, found the same helpful people inside, and space to browse the extensive collection of books. I came away with a mystery that one of the helpful people inside recommended (“if you don’t like it, bring it back, we’ll trade it for another”), another mystery in a series I discovered this year, two books from the Church of England series by Susan Howatch that I didn’t yet own and a Chaim Potok novel I haven’t read. I thought I’d read all of Potok, happy discovery that I’m wrong!

I like used bookshops. A lot. I visited one of my current favourites yesterday and had a happy conversation with the proprietor about the books of Haruki Murakami. I like nice people who work in used bookshops, who read lots of books, who like what they sell, and who understand the concept of browsing the shop.

Leave a comment

Filed under musings

Leave a Reply

