Get Those Free Books

One reason I love working in a bookshop: sometimes we get free books. We each got three freebies at our last staff meeting, books that couldn’t be sold for various reasons, so we got our pick. It was very exciting. This is what I got:

1. Scivas by Hildegard of Bingen. The visions of St. Hildegard of Bingen. Very exciting. I grabbed this. My colleagues generally do not dispute with me over books related to women and theology. They just stand back and I grab them.

2. Understanding the Prophets and Their Books. I’ve had my eye on this one for some time, and was pleased to find a copy in the too damaged to sell pile. This particular book examines the prophets in their historical order vs. their canonical order. That is not my preferred way of understanding the prophets, but it is good to read books that don’t follow one’s own preferences.

3. A Jane Austen Devotional. Surely, one of my colleagues said, this book was not written and published with serious intent! But I’m afraid it was. I read the introduction and the first devotional. It hurt my feminist soul. It also injured my intelligence and deflated my hope that Christians might read literature for something other than the moral message in the story. I think there will be more said about this particular work in some future post. Be warned.

 

1 Comment

Filed under lists

One response to “Get Those Free Books

  1. Andrea

    More about the devotional! More!!!!

Leave a Reply

