Old Books: An update one month in

You may recall that I resolved this year to read one older book (which I defined as originally published pre-1970) for every two newer books (those published since 1970). Despite my backlist-reading tendencies, most books that I read have been published in the last 42 years, thus reading the older books takes a bit of planning. I’ve got lots of older books on my shelves, but here’s one problem around my resolution — can I read a bunch of old books in a row, then read a bunch of new books in a row and keep the proportion right in the end? I think that is ok, but I think it would be too easy to read a bunch of new books and assume I’ll catch up later with the old book reading. Plus, if I’m being honest, I find the newer books more attractive right now. I enjoy reading older books, but they take a tiny bit more effort, and sometimes what I really want is a nice murder mystery. Hah! I should break out Dorothy L. Sayers! Murder mysteries that are also older books! What a great idea.
Back to older books, not by Dorothy L. I read many books at once. Right now I’ve got three active reads (I’ve picked them up in the last week) and a few other more inactive reads. Only one of my active reads is an old book, Barchester Towers. I think I need to make sure I’ve always got at least one older book on the go. And it helps to know where the next older book can come from. That makes the process easier.

2 Comments

Filed under What to Read Next

2 responses to “Old Books: An update one month in

  1. Rachel

    I’m reading Barchester Towers right now at your recommendation – and enjoying the laugh at how some things just don’t seem to have changed in church life. Thanks for the tip. An old book is a bit more challenging, I agree, but I also feel a satisfaction in it. I often go to children’s lit for old books, if I want more ease, e.g., George MacDonald.

  2. Sandi

    Gaudy Night it is…

Leave a Reply

