This is your brain on Beacon?

Yesterday I was procrastinating browsing the photos people have been uploading to the Beacon Bible Camp facebook page. Beacon is the camp I’ve volunteered at for as long as I’ve been old enough to do so, is the place I went to camp as a camper, and where I was a camp staff kid before that. The old photos are out in force as Beacon is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. Many of the old photos bring back memories of situations not shown in the pictures, but which may have happened with the people in the pictures. I thought briefly about the old record player at camp, and the Very Limited Selection of records available to put on the turntable.
This morning I woke up with a song in my head from those very vinyl albums we played over and over again on that record player. B.J. Thomas, I haven’t heard from you in a while! Memory is a funny thing isn’t it? How on earth did a fleeting memory of the silly record player produce B.J. Thomas singing “Home Where I Belong” in my head? Why do I remember the lyrics after (mumblemumble) years? Who knows.
What weird sound tracks has your brain come up with lately?

4 Comments

Filed under musings

4 responses to “This is your brain on Beacon?

  1. The other day I had The Spice Girls’ “If You Wanna Be My Lover” stuck in my head for a couple of hours.

    I remembered all of the words.

    Hey, they were BIG during my formative years!

  2. Phebe

    Hello Muthah, Hello Fathah, Here I am at Camp Granada…
    and
    Do your ears hang low, do they wobble to and fro?…

Leave a Reply

