Early Reading

Over at Publisher’s Weekly some staff people mentioned books that made them love reading. I thought about their question: “What was the first book that made you love books?” I’m not sure what was the first book. I remember the first book that I had a strong reaction to, the first book that I remember re-reading multiple times, the first one that made me want to go out and read everything else the author had written — but I’m not sure I want to tell you which book it was. Ok. I will. It was Treasures of the Snow by Patricia M. St. John. I have not seen the movie or listened to the audio book. I am not actually sure how old I was when I read this book. I probably started reading the Narnia books before it, and in the long run those have influenced me more, but I don’t remember first reading them. But it was P.M. St. John who really sealed the deal on the whole reading thing. I think I was already hooked, but she made sure the hook stayed in.

What about you? What’s the one book you think hooked you on reading? Or are you still unconvinced?

2 Comments

Filed under favourites

2 responses to “Early Reading

  1. First year at grammar school studied White Fang (Jack London), Ballet shoes (Noel Streatfield), and Moonstone (Wilkie Collins). 2nd year studies David Copperfield, Jane Eyre, and Day of the Triffids, haven’t looked back since. A whole new world opened up for me.

  2. AnnaT

    The Diary of Anne Frank – then I wanted to read everything non fiction or fictional about the holocaust. I was very young, 10ish- weird obsession for a 10 year old, non?

Leave a Reply

