Right now I’m reading…

I am in that pleasant place between two primary reads. I just finished Clouds of Witnesses by Dorothy L. Sayers last night before bed. I have before me several choices, but I think I’m going to celebrate the long weekend with The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith. I mean J.K. Rowling. Y’know, the book that shot to the top of the bestseller list a few weeks ago and hasn’t shown any signs of coming down. Anybody read it? Never mind. I’m going to read it. It is here next to me on the table. I’m also reading God’s Secret Agents by Alice Hogge (theological reading) and I’ve got The Firm by John Grisham on audio e-book from the library. I’ve read The Firm multiple times, but I’m enjoying doing re-reads via audio book. Next up on the audio re-read front is Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling. (Aside: I’m not sure I like the US voicing of the Potter books. I’ve read the UK wording and it sounds wrong to call Matron “Nurse” or say “sweater” for the Weasley jumpers at Christmas. Also the person who does the reading makes Hermione sound like a whiner. I’ve heard the UK versions are better but they are not easily obtained in North America. Gah.) Coming up soon on the fiction front are some Pern books I found used this summer. There are a few biographies of C.S. Lewis I’ve also recently acquired that are calling to me as well.

Happy long weekend reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under fiction, non-fiction

Leave a Reply

