Favourite Book For Children

The big list of questions about books and reading that I’m working through asks What is your favourite childhood book? I’ve written about my favourite chapter books for children before in this space. Today I’ll add my two favourite picture books of all time and then append an interesting list of favourites generated by my fb friends.

My two favourite picture books are And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street by Dr. Seuss, and Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak.

mulberrystreetcover300px-Where_The_Wild_Things_Are_(book)_cover

 

I love the complicated pictures in Mulberry Street and both the story and pictures in WTWTA.

I did not go to see the movie “Where The Wild Things Are” though a friend and I talked about it as we both loved the book. Then we did not go see the movie.

I asked my friends on facebook about childhood books they loved and a very interesting list was generated. This question got the most participation of any of my literary surveys so far. That in itself is interesting. I’ll throw the list up for you — I must note that some of the books listed are missing from this list as I could not find info for them. Also there was a late entry to the conversation who liked Tarzan comics. Some people listed series of books or anything by some author. I’ve listed authors and series below the books named. The list is bilingual with a slight Canadian flavour.

Books:

(chapter books)

  • A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett (2)
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Henry Higgins by Beverly Cleary
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
  • Matilda by Roald Dahl
  • The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
  • A Tale of Time City by Diana Wynne Jones
  • No Coins, Please by Gordon Korman
  • Bugs Potter Live at Nickaninny by Gordon Korman
  • Paradise Wars by Stephen Lawhead
  • Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis
  • The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • The King’s Daughter by Suzanne Martel
  • Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (3)
  • The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery
  • Jacob I have Loved by Katherine Paterson
  • Lincoln’s Little Correspondent by Hertha Ernestine Pauli
  • This Present Darkness by Frank Perretti
  • Jacob Two Two Meets the Hooded Fang by Mordecai Richler
  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  • The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Little House In the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder (2)
  • Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder

(picture books)

  • McElligot’s Pool by Dr. Suess
  • Death, Duck, and the Tulip by Wolf Erlbruch
  • Make Way for Ducklings and other Robert McCloskey books
  • The Balloon Tree by Phoebe Gilman
  • The Happy Lion by Louise Fatio (Author), Roger Duvoisin (illustrator)
  • Mop Top by Don Freeman

Authors:

Series:

 

Leave a comment

Filed under favourites, lists

Leave a Reply

