Adaptations

I’m working on two questions from the big book meme today:

  1. What is your favourite movie adaptation of a book?
  2. What was the most disappointing movie adaptation of a book you’ve encountered?

My favourite adaptations are not identical to the books they represent. They are, however, good adaptations of the books, and don’t alter the two books in ways that makes them unrecognizable. I like the movie “Hunt for Red October” and “Possession”. The books are better in both cases, but the movies are quite good.

(Here I note that in my movie-watching experience I’ve met two movies I liked better than the book: “Beaches” and “Everything is Illuminated”. Those two movies fall into the category watch the movie and don’t bother with the book. My opinion of course.)

The most disappointing movie adaptation is more difficult, mostly because I don’t watch many movies that are adaptations of books I love. I think that sets one up for disappointment. That being said, the two I’d pick are “Prince Caspian” and “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader”. Both movies heavily altered the book and in the case of Voyage, ruined a key theological point in the book. My humble opinion again. Any further thoughts on books and movie adaptations?

Speaking of movies, I quite enjoyed “The Blind Side” this past weekend. Look for the misquotation of the Bible.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under favourites

Leave a Reply

