Narnia, the happy land of Narnia

I’ve spent many hours in the happy land of Narnia (as Bree, the horse calls his home). I’ve done a bit of a search around this blog and found that I’ve listed two different Narnia books as my favourite of the Chronicles of Narnia. Oops. In one place I said The Horse and His Boyand in another, The Silver Chair. Hmm. Guess I’d better make up my mind.

Here is the order in which I favour the Narnia books, with reasons:

  1. The Horse and His Boy. It was the first Narnia book I ever read. I was 7. It also appeals to me on many levels. As a friend of mine put it when I asked about favourite Chronicle of Narnia on facebook: “Talking horses, finding your real family and home, the glimpse of grownup golden age Pevensies.” What more could anyone ask for? Plus I was 7 and the whole finding one’s biological family without really looking appealed to me. I ended up having to look. Oh well.
  2. The Silver Chair. I love the quest in this book, plus Puddleglum. He’s my favourite character in the series. Plus there’s something about the signs, and the many ways Aslan shows up that I find appealing in this book.
  3. The Magician’s Nephew. It is the creation scene with the lion singing that gets me every time. I’ve grown in appreciation for this book over time. I also like the prequel aspect of the book, you get the deep background of the Lamp Post (for example) and other things.
  4. 5. and 6. I never read these ones separately so they all run together in my mind: The Lion, The Witch, and the WardrobePrince Caspian, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Favourite scenes: Father Christmas; when Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy figure out where they are; Edmund the dragon.

And finally, 7. The Last Battle. I have grown in appreciation for this one over time, but I like it least because things end in it. But the last chapter with farther up and farther in is pretty awesome.

What about you? Which is your favourite? (Vote!)

Leave a comment

Filed under favourites

Leave a Reply

