Weekend Links and William Faulkner

I’ve found some interesting lists for a foggy Saturday.

Apparently there are a lot of movies based on books coming out in 2014. Who knew? Obviously I’m out of touch with movie-land. Of the sixteen book-based movies listed in that linked article I’ve only read two: Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin, and A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby. I enjoyed both of those books and would recommend them. I’m not at all sure Winter’s Tale can be made into a movie without hurting the book. It will be an interesting problem. Of the other 14, I intend to read The Giver sometime; the others I’m not sure yet. Also Gillian Flynn appears to have won the author adaptation prize for the year — she’s got two books on the list. Further, is anyone surprised that The Fault in Our Stars is being made into a movie? Anyone? No? I thought not.

Sometimes books contain other books that don’t exist. Possession and The Blind Assassin are my two favourite examples of books nested in books. Now there is a list of Best Books That Don’t Exist because authors made them up. Such a great list.

In other news, I’m reading Light in August by William Faulkner. The Constant Reader told me that this would be light reading compared to The Sound and the Fury. I’m not there with her. I found The Sound and The Fury readable and followed the story — Light in August is tortured and twisted in comparison. Maybe it is just the weird January weather. Maybe my brain can’t take the polar vortices followed by what appear to be chinooks.

What are you reading?

Leave a comment

Filed under lists

Leave a Reply

