Fiddlesticks

F is for either Fielding or Fowler. I’m torn. Maybe I’ll go with both.

Helen Fielding gave us Bridget Jones and her diary. She also gave us some other people and their antics, but who cares. Bridget is all we care about. Good thing there’s a new Bridget book. I’ve not yet read Mad About the Boy but I do know the pertinent piece of information about Mr. Darcy. I will not repeat it in case you don’t know. I do hope Bridget does not disappoint.

Karen J. Fowler wrote a bunch of books, but I’ve only read The Jane Austen Book Club. It was very enjoyable. As usual the book is better than the movie. In this case I don’t think the movie does the book any harm, but it over-emphasizes an aspect of the story that I found odd. Overall, I found The Jane Austen Book Club very enjoyable. It is different than many Austen-themed books in that it talks about the books and their intersections with the book club members’ lives without an attempt to return to the idealized past.

Who do you read from the F-section of the shelf?

Leave a comment

Filed under fiction

Leave a Reply

