The Sunday Excursus

On Sundays I’ve been taking a little break from the Alphabet series. I’ve heard from some readers who mentioned that they appreciate the series very much. Thanks! But I’m pretty sure we can all use a small break on a weekly basis.

This week’s rabbit-trail takes us past some graffiti/urban art that I particularly like. I was thinking about why I like this wall so much as the subway went past it this morning, then as I walked from the subway station toward the parking lot next to the wall. It hit me on the station platform. I see the glory of God reflected in this wall, particularly the two parts of the wall shown here:

Keele Stn both

Really? I hear you saying. The Glory of God? C’mon. Yes, the Glory of God.  I’m pretty sure that is not what the artist’s intended, but that is, I think, what I particularly like about them. The bottom one has a cubist feel to it. Here is a closer shot:

cubist grafPart of that glory thing might come from the smokey thing that ties together parts of the wall. I’ve avoided showing the large old man with a beard and a book also on this wall lest you think that he represents God to me. No. He does not. But this part of the wall next to the Keele Station parking lot reflects this:

Psalm 104

Lord my God, you are very great;
you are clothed with splendor and majesty.

The Lord wraps himself in light as with a garment;
he stretches out the heavens like a tent
    and lays the beams of his upper chambers on their waters.
He makes the clouds his chariot
and rides on the wings of the wind.
He makes winds his messengers,
flames of fire his servants.

31 May the glory of the Lord endure forever;
may the Lord rejoice in his works—
32 he who looks at the earth, and it trembles,
who touches the mountains, and they smoke.

Leave a comment

Filed under musings

Leave a Reply

