A Little Irrationality

Numbers can be irrational. Euler’s number, e, is between 2 and 3, so in my numerical sequence, e comes next.

If you clicked on the link above, you were reminded that e=1+1/1!+1/2!+1/3!+1/4!+… This is very exciting. Look at all those excited numbers! You also may wish to recall that when a number gets excited it multiplies like this: 4!=4x3x2x1. Numbers in excited states often work well into probability theory as well as calculating Euler’s number.

How on earth does the irrational number e (approximately 2.718281828459045…) connect with books? I’m glad you asked. Initially I also had a hard time with this question. I’ve decided that the book that I’ll talk about that I’ve read that has the most to do with e is Anathem by Neal Stephenson. I’ve mentioned Anathem before, but a quick review of my posts indicates that I’ve not really discussed the book at any length. Let me remedy that situation.

I think that Anathem is Neal Stephenson’s best work to date. He is a pretty good writer in my books, so this is saying something. The book is set in a place that is like Earth, but not quite. The action takes place in an enclosed area called a “Math” which is something like a monastery. The main character is called Erasmas, and he lives in a ten-year Math — which means the math only opens its doors for a week every ten years. The book begins just before the open week after Erasmus’s first ten years inside. Within the week, everything starts to change. Along with the math references, the book involves fun with Quantum Physics and the multi-verse. Don’t worry if you aren’t a math/physics geek, this is also a good story.

(There are also books about Euler, the guy who the number is named for. He is pretty interesting. I’ve just not read a biography yet.)

 

1 Comment

Filed under fiction

One response to “A Little Irrationality

  1. Christine

    Coincidentally, guess what I picked up to read this morning?

    (I especially like Anathem because each time I read through it 1. it makes more sense, and 2. I get a little bit closer to understanding the math.)

Leave a Reply

